Eleanor Frajka-Williams receives the 2021 AMS Nicholas P. Fofonoff Award

Please join us to congratulate Dr. Eleanor Frajka-Williams, member of the CLIVAR Atlantic Region Panel (ARP), to receive the reputable Nicholas P. Fofonoff Award in 2021 presented by the American Meteorological Society (AMS). There will be a formal presentation at the 101st AMS Annual Meeting to be held from 10 to 14 January, 2021 in New Orleans, USA.

The award is given annually to an early-career scientist who has demonstrated outstanding ability and research achievement in the field of physical oceanography. Dr. Eleanor Frajka-Williams is awarded for her innovative contributions to observing and understanding the physical mechanisms responsible for variability of the Atlantic Meridional Overturning Circulation.

Established in 2007, the award was named in honor of Nicholas P. Fofonoff, a WHOI physical oceanographer renowned for his research on the dynamics of ocean currents. Fofonoff, who served twice as chair of the WHOI Physical Oceanography Department during his career, passed away in 2003.

Let’s also give congratulations to Dr. James W. Hurrell, former CLIVAR SSG co-chair, and Dr. Bo Qiu, former member of CLIVAR Pacific Region Panel, as they are awarded the Warren Washington Research and Leadership Medal and the Henry Stommel Research Medal respectively.

For more information of 2021 AMS Awards and Honors Recipients, please refer to: https://www.ametsoc.org/index.cfm/ams/about-ams/ams-awards-honors/2021-awards-and-honors-recipients/