CLIVAR/CliC/SCAR Southern Ocean Region Panel

About Us

Participants of the CLIVAR/CliC/SCAR Southern Ocean Region Panel at their 13th session - 14-15 June 2018, Davos, Switzerland


The Southern Ocean Region Panel is cosponsored by the World Climate Research Programme's the Climate and Ocean: Variability, Predictability and Change (CLIVAR) and the Climate and Cryosphere (CliC) projects, and the Scientific Committee on Antarctic Research (SCAR) programme.

Call for participation: A proposed CLIVAR Exchanges issue: 

Physical and biogeochemical studies in the Southern Ocean  by less-developed Antarctic programs
SORP is planning to organize a special issue of the CLIVAR Exchanges, aiming at highlighting research, data, and networks of less known Antarctic programs providing novel insight on physical and biogeochemical processes of the Southern Ocean. Toward this end, SORP has prepared an online questionnaire, inviting participation and gathering some information for the editorial introduction of the issue. We warmly welcome you to take some minutes to fill in the online questions with "yes" or "no" and leave your contact. Thank you in advance for taking your contribution.
The online questionnaire system will be closed on March 10, 2022. 

Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference of the CLIVAR/CliC/SCAR Southern Ocean Region Panel are:

"To serve as a forum for the discussion and communication of scientific advances in the understanding of climate variability and change in the Southern Ocean. To advise CLIVAR, CliC, and SCAR on progress, achievements, new opportunities and impediments in internationally-coordinated Southern Ocean research."

Specific Activities:

1.      Facilitate progress in the development of tools and methods required to assess climate variability, climate change and climate predictability of the ocean-atmosphere-ice system in the Southern Ocean.

2.      Identify opportunities and coordinated strategies to implement these methods, spanning observations, models, experiments, and process studies.

3.      Provide scientific and technical input into international research coordination, collaborating as required with other relevant programs, including the Southern Ocean Observing System (SOOS).

4.      Monitor and evaluate progress in Southern Ocean research, and identify gaps.

5.      Enhance interaction between the meteorology, oceanography, cryosphere, geology, biogeochemistry and paleoclimate communities with an interest in the climate of the Southern Ocean.

6.      Work with relevant agencies on the standardization, distribution and archiving of Southern Ocean observations.

Southern Panel Members

Name Role Institute Country
Elisabeth Sikes Co-Chair 2022 Rutgers University USA
Torge Martin Co-Chair 2022 GEOMAR Germany
Riccardo Farneti Member 2021 ICTP Italy
Sandra Barreira Member 2022 Argentine Naval Hydrographic Service Argentina
Karen Assmann Member 2022 Institute of Marine Research Norway
Robin Robertson Member 2021 Xiamen University Malaysia Malaysia
David Bromwich Member 2021 Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center, Ohio State University USA
Michiyo Yamamoto-Kawai Member 2021 Tokyo University of Marine Science and Technology Japan
Neil Swart Member 2021 Environment and Climate Change Canada Canada
Ronald Souza Member 2021 National institute for Space Research – INPE Brazil
Katye Altieri Member 2021 University of Cape Town South Africa
Natalie Robinson Member 2023 New Zealand’s Institute for Water and Atmospheric Research New Zealand
Libao Gao Member 2022 First Institute of Oceanography China
Tore Hattermann Member 2022 Norwegian Polar Institute Norway
Luciano Pezzi Ex officio Instituto Nacional de Pesquisas Espaciais (INPE) Brazil

See also details of Southern Ocean Region panel national representatives.
The ICPO contact for the CLIVAR/CliC/SCAR Southern Ocean Region Panel is Liping.