Dr Wenju Cai elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science

The Australian Academy of Science has elected 24 new Fellows for 2020 this month for their outstanding contributions to science. Dr. Wenju Cai, co-chair of the CLIVAR Scientific Steering Group (SSG), has been included in this prestigious group.

Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science are among Australia’s most distinguished scientists, elected by their peers for ground-breaking research and contributions that have had clear impact. Each year the Academy elects up to 20 new Fellows by ‘Ordinary Election’ and up to four additional Fellows by ‘Special Election’. From 1954 to 2019, there have been 824 Fellows elected to the Academy.

Dr Wenju Cai, as a prominent world authority and leader on climate variability, ocean dynamics, ocean-atmosphere interactions, and climate change, is elected for his contributions to the significant improvements in fundamental knowledge, climate simulations and climate projections.

For more information about the new Fellows for 2020, please visit https://www.science.org.au/news-and-events/news-and-media-releases/australias-top-scientists-elected-fellows-of-academy?from=timeline.