Upwelling Research Focus Planning Workshop

Friday, October 2, 2015 to Saturday, October 3, 2015
Event City: 
Event Attendance: 
By invitation
Event Contact: 
Nico Caltabiano
Event Description: 

Upwelling Research Focus Planing Workshop

2 - 3 October 2015

Middle East Technological University

Ankara - Turkey


Background documents

Initial plan for the CLIVAR Upwelling Research Focus and meeting format can be downloaded from here.


Information pack: please download an information pack for the meeting from here.

Venue: the workshop will be hosted by the Middle East Technical University (METU), in Ankara, Turkey. There will be a bus from Tunali Hotel to the meeting venue, leaviing at 8am.

Hotel: Suggested hotel is Tunalı Hotel. Rate is 45.00 Euros including breakfast and tax. Please contact Nico Caltabiano with your check-in and check-out dates and a reservation will be made for you.

Arriving in Ankara: the Ankara Esenboğa Airport terminal complex is at 33 km distance to the city center. There are several means of transportation from airport to Ankara city center. 

BelKo Air Buses (http://www.belkoair.com/)

BelKo Air Buses of the Ankara Municipality serve for the transfer to / from the airport to the Main inter-city bus terminal AŞTİ and then to Kızılay. The 40 minutes bus trip costs 15 TL (about 5 EUR). From the Main inter-city bus terminal AŞTİ, one can take a metered taxi (~10 EUR) to the METU campus guesthouses, or to the hotels.


Taxis can be expensive (about 40.-Euros) but are available anytime at the airport and the journey takes about 40 minutes. All of the taxis are yellow and have meters.

Airport Shuttle Services:

There are airport shuttle services (shared minibus) that will take you to your destination from the airport and on return, if you care to reserve ahead, or consult following links:


Meeting participants

Name Affiliation Country
Jack Barth Oregon State Univeristy USA
Antonio Bode Instituto Español de Oceanografia Spain
Annalisa Bracco Georgia Tech University USA
Nico Caltabiano ICPO China
Enrique Curchitser Reutgers University USA
Gokhan Danabasoglu NCAR USA
Sergey Danilov AWI Germany
Ruben Escribano University of Concepcion Chile
Riccardo Farneti ICTP Italy
Alban Lazar LOCEAN France
Carl van der Lingen Dep. Agriculture, Foresta and Fisheries South Africa
Colleen Malloney University of Cape Town South Africa
Art Miller Scripps Institute of Oceanography USA
Emin Ozsoy Middle East Technological University Turkey
Ryan Rykaczewski South Carolina University USA
Thomas Toniazzo University of Bergen Norway
Marco Zavatarelli University of Bologna Italy
Paquita Zuidema University of Miami USA