Francis Zwiers, ETCCDI co-chair, awarded the 2007 Patterson Medal Award (05 Jun 2008)

Dr. Francis Zwiers, Director of the Climate Research Division, Science and Technology Branch, Environment Canada, and co-chair of the CCl/CLIVAR/JCOMM Expert Team on Climate Change Detection and Indices (ETCCDI) has been awarded the 2007 Patterson Medal Award for distinguished service to meteorology in Canada. He received the award jointly with Dr. John (Jack) C. McConnell, Professor of Atmospheric Physics, Department of Earth and Space Science and Engineering, York University. The Patterson Distinguished Service Medal, presented since 1954, is considered the most pre-eminent award recognizing outstanding work in meteorology by residents of Canada. This prestigious award is named in honor of Dr. John Patterson, a distinguished meteorologist who was Director and Controller of the Meteorological Service of Canada from 1929 to 1946, a crucial period in the development of Canada?s weather service. This prestigious award was presented today at the 42nd Annual Congress of the Canadian Meteorological and Oceanographic Society (CMOS) in Kelowna, British Columbia.