23rd Session of the CLIVAR Scientific Steering Group

Monday, November 27, 2017 to Thursday, November 30, 2017
Event City: 
Pune
India
Event Attendance: 
SSG members, Panel/RF co-chairs, ICPO staff and Observers
Event Contact: 
Jose Santos
Event Description: 

 

Preparatory Documents

Report of 22 SSG Meeting

SSG Meeting Agenda

Participants

Activity Reports

CDP - Climate Dynamics Panel

OMDP - Ocean Model Development Panel

GSOP - Global Synthesis and Observations Panel

Monsoons - CLIVAR-GEWEX Monsoons Panel.

ARP - Atlantic Region Panel

PRP - Pacific Region Panel

IORP - Indian Ocean Region Panel

SORP - Southern Ocean Region Panel

NORP - Northern Ocean Region Panel

ENSO - ENSO in a changing climate

Concept Heat - Consistency between planetary energy balance and ocean heat storage (CONCEPT-HEAT)

Sea Level - Regional Sea Level Change and Coastal Impacts Grand Challenge

DCVP - Decadal Climate Variability and Predictability

EBUS - Eastern Boundary Upwelling Systems

 

Participants

No.   First Name Last Name Email Organization Status
1 SSG Annalisa Bracco abracco@gatech.edu Georgia Institute of Technology Co-Chair
2 SSG Detlef Stammer detlef.stammer@uni-hamburg.de CEN, Universität Hamburg Co-Chair
3 SSG Krishna  AchutaRao akrishna@cas.iitd.ernet.in Indian Institute of Technology member
4 SSG Boris  Dewitte b.dewitte.legos@gmail.com LEGOS member
5 SSG Nathan Bindoff n.bindoff@utas.edu.au University of Tasmania member
6 SSG Pascale Braconnot  pascale.braconnot@lsce.ipsl.fr CEA-CNRS member
7 SSG Pedro  Monteiro pmonteir@csir.co.za CSIR member
8 SSG Stephen  Griffies stephen.griffies@noaa.gov NOAA member
9 SSG Wenju  Cai wenju.cai@csiro.au CSIRO member
10 ICPO Jose  Santos jose.santos@clivar.org CLIVAR ICPO ED
11 ICPO Nico Caltabiano nico.caltabiano@clivar.org CLIVAR ICPO DD
12 ICPO Jing Li jing.li@clivar.org CLIVAR Staff ICPO
13 ICPO Lei Han lei.han@clivar.org CLIVAR Staff ICPO
14 ICMPO MM Ali mm.ali@clivar.org CLIVAR ICMPO D
15 ICMPO Ashwini Kulkarni ashwini@tropmet.res.in CLIVAR Staff ICMPO
16 ICMPO Harish Borse harish.borse@clivar.org CLIVAR Staff ICMPO
17 ARP Sabrina  Speich speich@lmd.ens.fr Brest & Laboratoire of Météorologie Dynamique Co-Chair
18 CDP Shoshiro  Minobe minobe@sci.hokudai.ac.jp Hokkaido University Co-Chair
19 IORP Weiqing Han whan@colorado.edu The University of Colorado member
20 Monsoons Andy Turner a.g.turner@reading.ac.uk U. Reading Co-Chair
21 OMDP Gokhan Danabasoglu gokhan@ucar.edu NCAR Co-Chair
22 PRP Matthieu  Lengaigne lengaign@locean-ipsl.upmc.fr LOCEAN Co-Chair
23 SORP Joellen Russell jrussell@email.arizona.edu University of Arizona member
24 Concept Heat Karina  Von Schuckmann kvonschuckmann@gmail.com Mercator Co-Chair
25   Mike Sparrow msparrow@wmo.int WCRP  
26   Guy Brasseur (Telecon) guy.brasseur@mpimet.mpg.de WCRP  
27 Observer Salvatore  Arico s.arico@unesco.org IOC  
28 Observer Lawrence Hislop lawrence@climate-cryosphere.org CLIC  
29 Observer Graeme Stephens (Telecon) graeme.stephens@jpl.nasa.gov GEWEX Co Chair
30 Observer  Gufran Beig beig@tropmet.res.in SPARC Member
31 Observer Sonya  Legg (Telecon) slegg@princeton.edu USCLIVAR SSG-Chair
32 Observer R. Krishnan krish@tropmet.res.in IITM Staff
33 Observer Ravi Nanjundiah ravisn@tropmet.res.in IITM Director


Accomodation

Pride Hotel, Pune, India

Hotel will arrange pick up at the Airport, in order to do this we need your detail arrival information (flight number, date and time)

http://www.pridehotel.com/pune/the-pride-hotel-pune/overview/

ROOM BOOKING # 01.

Company :                    IITM

Room Type  :                30 Superior Single Rooms

Room Tariff :                INR 3813.56 + GST (18%), per day for a Superior Single Room

Mode of payment:        Directly by the Guests

Reservation No :          153888 and 153890

Special remarks :         Superior Single Rooms, Direct Payment, 8 hrs. internet facility.     

14:00 hrs is the check-in & 12:00 is the check – out timings.

 

The above rate includes the following :  

•    Room charges,

•    Tea / Coffee maker in the room

•    Buffet Breakfast at Casablanca Restaurant;  

•    Bottle of Packaged Drinking Water daily.

.    Complimentary internet usage for 8 hours in the Room.

 

 

Local Information

Local Weather

In Pune, the month of November is characterized by gradually falling daily high temperatures, with daily highs decreasing by 1°C, from 32°C to 30°C over the course of the month, and rarely exceeding 33°C or dropping below 13°C

wet day is one with at least 1.00 millimeters of liquid or liquid-equivalent precipitation. In Pune, the chance of a wet day over the course of November is decreasing, starting the month at 9% and ending it at 4%.

The average sliding 31-day rainfall during November in Pune is decreasing, starting the month at 30 millimeters, when it rarely exceeds 79 millimeters, and ending the month at 11 millimeters, when it rarely exceeds 34 millimeters or falls below -0 millimeters.

 

Visa requirements

All foreign nationals entering India are required to possess a valid international travel document in the form of a national passport with a valid visa obtained from an Indian Mission or Post abroad.

All Individual visa seekers are requested to apply for the Indian Visa through Online application link, in order to make an application for getting the Indian visa.

https://indianvisaonline.gov.in/visa/index.html

 

Electricity

In India the power sockets are of type C, D and M. The standard voltage is 230 V and the standard frequency is 50 Hz.
Always check the power supply before using your equipment.


Currency exchange rate

The current rate is approx. 65.19 Indian Rupee per 1 USD and 76.66 Indian Rupee per 1 EUR.

 

Contact

If you have further questions, please contact:

Jose Santos (jose.santos@clivar.org)