CLIVAR/IOC-GOOS Indian Ocean Region Panel

About Us

The CLIVAR/GOOS Indian Ocean Panel provides scientific and technical oversight for implementation of the sustained ocean observing system for the Indian Ocean and coordinates research on the role of the Indian Ocean on the climate system.


Terms of Reference

1. Provide scientific and technical oversight for a sustained ocean observing system for the Indian Ocean and Indonesian Throughflow in order to provide ocean observations needed for climate variability research, and to underpin operational ocean applications and services relevant to the region, particularly with regard to ocean-state estimation and climate prediction.

2. Develop, coordinate, and implement a plan for a sustained ocean observing system for the Indian Ocean, to: (a) meet the common requirement of CLIVAR research themes and regional initiatives, particularly those identified by AAMP and VACS and the CLIVAR modelling panels; (b) satisfy the common requirements of GOOS and its modules; and (c) coordinate implementation activities in collaboration with relevant regional and global bodies and IOGOOS and JCOMM in particular.

3. Liaise with relevant research panels of CLIVAR and implementation panels of GOOS and JCOMM and provide a focal point for coordination of ocean observing networks in the region.

4. Report to the CLIVAR SSG through its AAMP and to GOOS through the IOC Perth Office.


Resources & Publications

Indian Ocean Observing System (IndOOS)

CLIVAR, in collaboration with Indian Ocean GOOS and the Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission, is working to design and implement an integrated observing system for the Indian Ocean, including a basin-wide mooring array.

News View

There are currently no news items for this section.


Monday, July 8, 2013 to Friday, July 12, 2013
Monday, July 8, 2013 to Tuesday, July 9, 2013
Monday, October 15, 2012 to Wednesday, October 17, 2012
Monday, July 12, 2010 to Friday, July 16, 2010

Indian Panel Members

Name Role Institute Country
Jerome Vialard Co-Chair 2016 LOCEAN France
M. Ravichandran Co-Chair 2014 INCOIS India
Toshiaki Shinoda Member 2014 Texas A&M University USA
Agus Supangat Member 2014 National Council on Climate Change Indonesia
Lisa Beal Member 2016 University of Miami USA
Lin Liu Member 2016 First Insitute of Oceanography China
VSN Murty Member 2016 National Institute of Oceanography India
Helen Phillips Member 2016 University of Tasmania Australia
Tomoki Tozuka Member 2016 University of Tokyo Japan
Ming Feng Member 2014 CSIRO Australia
Weiqing Han Member 2014 University of Colorado USA
Raleigh Hood Member 2014 University of Maryland USA
Charles Magori Member 2014 Kenya Marine and Fisheries Research Institute Kenya
Andreas Schiller Ex officio CSIRO Australia
Michael McPhaden Ex officio NOAA, PMEL USA