24th Session of the CLIVAR Scientific Steering Group

Tuesday, November 27, 2018 to Thursday, November 29, 2018
Event City: 
Washington DC
USA
Event Attendance: 
SSG members, Panel/RF co-chairs, ICPO staff and Observers
Event Contact: 
Jose Santos
Event Description: 

 

 

Preparatory Documents

Report of 23 SSG Meeting

SSG Meeting Agenda (Draft)

Participants

 

Activity Reports

CDP - Climate Dynamics Panel

OMDP - Ocean Model Development Panel

GSOP - Global Synthesis and Observations Panel

Monsoons - CLIVAR-GEWEX Monsoons Panel.

ARP - Atlantic Region Panel

PRP - Pacific Region Panel

IORP - Indian Ocean Region Panel

SORP - Southern Ocean Region Panel

NORP - Northern Ocean Region Panel

ENSO - ENSO in a changing climate

Concept Heat - Consistency between planetary energy balance and ocean heat storage (CONCEPT-HEAT)

Sea Level - Regional Sea Level Change and Coastal Impacts Grand Challenge

DCVP - Decadal Climate Variability and Predictability

EBUS - Eastern Boundary Upwelling Systems

 

Participants

CLIVAR SSG Members
  Name Email Organization
1 Krishna AchutaRao akrishna@cas.iitd.ernet.in Indian Institute of Technology. India
2 Annalisa Bracco abracco@gatech.edu Georgia Institute of Technology. USA
3 Nathan Bindoff n.bindoff@utas.edu.au University of Tasmania. Australia
4 Pascale Braconnot pascale.braconnot@lsce.ipsl.fr National Center for Scientific Research. CEA-CNRS. France
5 Wenju Cai wenju.cai@csiro.au Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation. Australia
6 Dake Chen dchen@sio.org.cn Second Institute of Oceanography. China
7 Boris Dewitte b.dewitte.legos@gmail.com Laboratoire d'Etudes en Géophysique et Océanographie Spatiales. France
8 Stephen Griffies stephen.griffies@noaa.gov NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory. USA
9 Mauricio Mata mauricio.m.mata@gmail.com Universidade Federal do Rio Grande. Brazil
10 Pedro Monteiro pmonteir@csir.co.za Council for Scientific and Industrial Research. South Africa
11 Detlef  Stammer detlef.stammer@uni-hamburg.de CEN, Universität Hamburg.  Germany
CLIVAR PANEL/RF Members  
  Name Email Organization Panel /RF
1 Steven Jayne sjayne@whoi.edu Wooods Hole Oceanographic Institution. USA GSOP
2 Alistair Adcroft alistair.adcroft@noaa.gov NOAA Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory. USA OMDP
3 Mat Collins M.Collins@exeter.ac.uk University of Exeter. UK CDP
4 Andy Turner (Telecon) a.g.turner@reading.ac.uk University of Reading. UK Monsoon
5 Sabrina Speich sabrina.speich@lmd.ens.fr Ecole Normale Supérieure de Paris. France ARP
6 Xiaopei Lin linxiaop@ouc.edu.cn Ocean University of China. China PRP
7 Lisa Beal lbeal@rsmas.miami.edu University of Miami. USA IORP
8 Riccardo Farneti rfarneti@ictp.it International Centre for Theoretical Physics. Italy SORP
9 Amy Solomon amy.solomon@noaa.gov NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory. USA NORP
10 Yochanan Kushnir (telecon) kushnir@ldeo.columbia.edu Columbia University DCVP
11 Ryan Rykaczewski ryk@sc.edu University of South Carolina. USA EBUS
12 Detlef  Stammer detlef.stammer@uni-hamburg.de CEN, Universität Hamburg. Germany Sea Level
13 Wenju Cai wenju.cai@csiro.au Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation. Australia ENSO
14 Karina von Schuckmann (Telecon) kvonschuckmann@gmail.com Mercator Ocean. France Concept Heat
US CLIVAR Scientific Steering Committee & Project Office
  Name Email Organization
1 Daniel Vimont dvimont@wisc.edu University of Wisconsin / Department of Atmospheric & Oceanic Sciences
2 Tony Lee tlee@jpl.nasa.gov NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory
3 Carol Anne Clayson cclayson@whoi.edu Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution
4 Mike Patterson mpatterson@usclivar.org US CLIVAR Project Office
5 Kristan Uhlenbrock kuhlenbrock@usclivar.org US CLIVAR Project Office
6 Jeff Becker jbecker@usclivar.org US CLIVAR Project Office
US Agency Representatives
  Name Email Organization
1 Kaye, Jack jack.kaye@nasa.gov NASA Science Mission Directorate
2 Lindstrom, Eric eric.j.lindstrom@nasa.gov NASA Physical Oceanography Program
3 Vinogradova-Shiffer, Nadya nadya.vinogradova-shiffer@nasa.gov NASA Physical Oceanography Program
4 Wayne Higgins wayne.higgins@noaa.gov NOAA Climate Program Office
5 Jin Huang jin.huang@noaa.gov NOAA Earth System Science and Modelling Division
6 Sandy Lucas sandy.lucas@noaa.gov NOAA Climate Variability & Predictability Program
7 Annarita Mariotti annarita.mariotti@noaa.gov NOAA Modeling, Analysis, Predictions & Projections
8 James Todd james.todd@noaa.gov NOAA Ocean Observing & Monitoring Division
9 Bamzai, Anjuli S. abamzai@nsf.gov NSF Atmospheric Sciences Section
10 Cai, Ming mcai@nsf.gov NSF Climate and Large-Scale Dynamics Program
11 Uz, Baris M bmuz@nsf.gov NSF Physical Oceanography Program
12 Davis, Xujing Jia xdavis@nsf.gov> NSF Physical Oceanography Program
13 Geernaert, Gerald gerald.geernaert@science.doe.gov US DOE Climate & Environmental Sciences Division
14 Joseph, Renu renu.joseph@science.doe.gov US DOE Climate & Earth System Modeling
15 Koch, Dorothy dorothy.koch@science.doe.gov US DOE Climate & Earth System Modeling
16 Michael Kuperberg mkuperberg@usgcrp.gov US Global Change Research Program
17 Jennifer Saleem Arrigo jsaleem-arrigo@usgcrp.gov US Global Change Research Program
18 Apurva Dave adave@usgcrp.gov US Global Change Research Program
WCRP
1 Guy Brasseur guy.brasseur@mpimet.mpg.de Chair, WCRP Joint Scientific Committee (JSC)
2 Amanda Lynch amanda_lynch@brown.edu Vice-chair, WCRP Joint Scientific Committee
3 Mike Sparrow msparrow@wmo.int Senior Scientific Officer WCRP
Partner Projects and Other Observers
1 Salvatore Arico.  (Telecon) s.arico@unesco.org IOC.
2 Peter Van Oevelen pvanoevelen@gewex.org GEWEX
3      
International CLIVAR Project Office
1 Jose Santos jose.santos@clivar.org Executive Director ICPO
2 Jing Li jing.li@clivar.org Staff Scientists ICPO
3 Liping Yin liping.yin@clivar.org Staff Scientists ICPO
4 M.M. Ali mm.ali@clivar.org Director ICMPO

Accommodation

Hamilton Hotel Washington DC
1001 14th St NW,
Washington, DC 20005 USA
Tel: 202.682.0111
Fax: 202.682.3801

http://hamiltonhoteldc.com/

ROOM BOOKING.

 

 Local Information

Local Weather

 

Early this month temperatures are still fairly mild with daytime highs in the low to mid 60s f (about 17C) while early morning lows are mostly in the mid-40s f (about 7C).  Some days can see mild temperatures rising into the low to mid 70s f (23-24C).

Temperatures do fall steadily during this month and by end of November daytime highs are more likely to be in the lower 50s f (10-11C) with overnight lows in the mid to upper 30s f (2-3C).  About 3-4 days this month can see early morning lows at or below 32f (0C), however, about 23-24 days will also see daytime temperatures of at least 50f (10C).

About 16 days during November normally offer up sunny or at least partly sunny skies while about 14 days will be mostly overcast.  About 8 days this month will see some precipitation but normally heavy rainfalls of 0.5 inches (about 13 mm) or more occur only on about 2 days.  

  

Contact

If you have further questions, please contact:

Jose Santos (jose.santos@clivar.org)